Friday, June 25, 2010

False Priest

A couple of days after the first artwork leak in the history of recorded music, Pitchfork was the first media outlet to announce the details we'd all been waiting for.

They do not offer much in terms of things we didn't already know (because that's who we are, people who figure things out before they even happen), but they have the official track list (I'm quite disappointed to notice that the longest title only has 5 words, none of which are in a foreign language, or refer to some obscure mythological creature, or just plain made up) and the release date : September 14th in the US, and 13th in Europe (what they don't know is that stores are closed in France on Mondays, so it's still going to be the 14th for some of us, but whatever...)

01 I Feel Ya' Strutter
02 Our Riotous Defects [ft. Janelle Monáe]
03 Coquet Coquette
04 Godly Intersex
05 Enemy Gene [ft. Janelle Monáe]
06 Hydra Fancies
07 Like a Tourist
08 Sex Karma [ft. Solange Knowles]
09 Girl Named Hello
10 Famine Affair
11 Casualty of You
12 Around the Way
13 You Do Mutilate?

The real treat, though, is that you can download the first single, Coquet Coquette, right now. If you have been following this blog and the band over the past year, this song will sound very familiar to you as it has been road-tested and performed several times acoustically since April 2009. If you haven't already done so, you can download various live version of this very song here. One thing is for sure, the production style is everything Kevin and Jon Brion had wished for ("That was the goal: To make something that had that low end but also was my thing, an of Montreal record." - P4K interview), but whether or not the fans will like it remains to be seen. As a matter of fact, some are already complaining. (because that's who we are, the kind of people who argue about production within 5 minutes of a song being released)

But enough of this, I see you standing there with your wallet wondering, can I get a False Priest bathrobe? Can I get a False Priest doormat? Can I get a set of 4 False Priest hubcaps? Well, not quite, but even if the collection is less elaborate than the Skeletal Lamping one (which is 20% off on PV right now, just so you know), we are still getting a decent amount of merchandising to choose from (each include mp3 downloads): obviously, CD and vinyl (black or red), amazing-looking shirt, and for a mere $40 a CD package deal that includes

  • 1 CD
  • 1 20-page-long booklet full of David's & Nina's drawings
  • 1 t-Shirt
  • 8 buttons
  • 4 stickers
  • 2 magnets
  • 1 2 posters
  • 1 Skeletal Lamping CD
  • 1 Hissing Fauna, Are You The Destroyer? CD
  • 1 Icons, Abstract Thee CDEP.
I kid you not. If you're not getting this, you're either out of your mind or a victim of the recession (quite possibly both - in which case, find some old guitar, learn 3 chords, and go busking and don't stop until you get 40 bucks). The LP package deal is just $10 more expensive.
Of course you're going to tell me that you already have Hissing Fauna & Skeletal Lamping, and I'm going to answer that your little brother, your distant cousin, your neighbor who keeps on blasting Nickleback just to piss you off, or the cute girl that always smiles at you at the bus stop probably don't. Think about it.

Check out the full collection and all the options available to you here.

Thursday, June 17, 2010

old songs, new songs

With only 13 days left to start their False Priest pre-order campaign, Polyvinyl still managed to catch us off guard with a special The Past Is A Grotesque Animal release. The song has been remastered, and the b-side features the version you could hear in Spike Jonze's movie I'm Here. The good thing is that the artwork looks amazing, and the bad news is that it's already sold out. How did that happen, I've no idea, but apparently I was the only one who wasn't excited about the unexpected release of a three-year-old song, no matter how fantastically epic the song is. Congratulations to all 500 of you who got it straight away, when the rest of us will have to wait for it to show up on ebay.
Talking about three-year-old songs, oM fan and director Daniel Arthur contacted me with his pretty cool video for "We Were Born The Mutants Again With Leafling." Watch it here, and make sure you watch the whole thing because there's an amazing twist towards the end.

of Montreal - We Were Born The Mutants Again With Leafling from Daniel Arthur on Vimeo.

In recent news, and in case you're still not used to The Booty Patrol's amazing facebook and twitter features, you may have missed out on a few pictures, articles and interviews... First, there was You Ain't No Picasso's photo coverage of the False Priest recording sessions in Los Angeles. It actually looks like Jon and Kevin weren't doing much apart from sitting around drinking coffee and playing bass, but I'm sure that's what you do when you're just waiting for the magic to happen. Keep up the hard work, guys.
Secondly, Spin posted a great interview with Kevin last week. It is actually much better than the one Pitchfork posted today, but both give you a rather clear indication of what False Priest will sound like, and what the touring plans are, and a lot of other information that I found exciting when I first read them but can't quite remember what they were now. Uh-oh.
Thirdly, a few dates have been added for the summer. The whole band is playing two festivals and a venue, and Kevin is headlining the Lake Worth It Festival on August 7th. And when I say Kevin is headlining, I mean him, on his own, as a solo act. This hasn't happened in quite some time (SXSW '08?), so it should pretty interesting to see how he pulls it off, and whether his twitvid covers are not-so-secret rehearsals.

That's all for now, folks. Here's to wishing The Booty Patrol's next post is some legit False Priest information and a little less rambling.

~~~~ EDIT (later that day) ~~~~

According to Pitchfork, Major Organ and the Adding Machine, a movie featuring just about everyone who has had anything to do with the Elephant 6 collective, will be released on Orange Twins on September 14th. Almost ten years after it was shot. Here's a little teaser.

Wednesday, June 2, 2010

And the winner was...

Remember a few weeks ago when Matt Picasso announced this crazy contest of sorts? Well, it turns out that the winner of the two free tickets was our very own Riding Joe from NYC, but there was also the record-shopping experience with Bryan, and even though Matt couldn't make it due to illness (I hope you get better soon and that you've seen the last of this awful disease, Matt), he still posted a very interesting follow-up on his blog yesterday. Read all about Bryan's (surprising?) choices here, and find out new records to love (and if you claim you've already heard them all, I simply won't believe one word of it).

The very very last leg of the Skeletal Lamping tour is coming to an end this very night in Carrboro, NC, but fear not, Polyvinyl has already announced that False Priest will be available for pre-order sometime this month, which means that there will be lots and lots to report over the summer : artwork, track list, first single and its crazy video... Oh! Anticipation!

Take a look at hughshows' fantastic slideshow from the Pittsburgh show last week.